Indo-European linguistics and classical philology
Information for authors

Publication Ethics and Publication Malpractice Statement

The International Journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology is an academic periodical with no political, ideological, confessional, or other agendas; therefore the Journal’s activities are solely for the sake of scholarship. All participants in the editorial and publishing process (Authors, Reviewers, Editors, and Editorial Board Members) should keep this in mind and follow the ethical standards outlined below, which are based on the recommendations of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Authorship Issues

When submitting a paper to publish in Indo-European linguistics and classical philology, the Author thereby confirms his or her authorship. In the case of a collaborative work, one of the Authors may submit material for publication provided that all coauthors are listed with all necessary and correct information about them.

If there are agencies or other entities that contributed to the content or provided funding or support for the work submitted, the Author should clearly identify them. If necessary, the Author should express gratitude to colleagues who have made a contribution to the submitted work.

The Authors must present in full all sources of information used in the work, including lists of sources (both published and unpublished), research literature (including the Authors’ own previously published works), and informants (when publishing the results of field studies). The Authors should ensure that if they have used the work and/or words of others, this has been appropriately cited or quoted. Any form of plagiarism is unacceptable. Self-plagiarism, i.e., the attempt to republish one’s own previously published work without significant changes to it, is similarly unacceptable. Concurrent submission of the same work to Indo-European linguistics and classical philology and to any other publication is prohibited. The research archive used by the Author should be accessible upon request for the period of at least two years.

In case of violation of any of the rules listed above, the Editorial Team is entitled to refuse to publish the materials at any time, including during preliminary consideration, without involving reviewers, and also not to proceed with the publication of any work from the Author for a period of three years.

Any changes added by the Author to a text that has been peer-reviewed and accepted for publication can be made only in coordination with the Editorial Team. An Author can withdraw an accepted work only before the materials have been sent out for editing. If the Author absolutely wishes to withdraw the material from publication after the editorial work has been done, the Editorial Team is entitled to refuse to consider publication of any work submitted by this Author for a period of three years.

It is unacceptable for an Author to place into the public domain any materials that have been accepted for publication and sent for editing but which have not yet been published. If this rule is violated, the Editorial Team is entitled to withdraw these materials and to refuse to consider publication of any work by the Author for a period of three years.

Copyright and Open Access

The journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology has agreed to the Budapest Open Access Initiative and therefore provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. At the same time, the Authors are not charged any fees for publication in Indo-European linguistics and classical philology.

When sending materials for consideration by the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology, the Authors agree that the acceptance of these materials for publication ensures their redistribution in accordance with the license Creative Commons | Attribution-NoDerivatives (this allows for redistribution, commercial and non-commercial, as long as it is passed along unchanged and in its entirety, with attribution). At the same time, copyright remains in full with the Authors.

Accuracy of Information

The Authors of the papers submitted to the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology are responsible for detailed verification of all the information contained in their work in order to avoid inaccurate references to sources or the omission of necessary references. If, in the process of editing the materials accepted for publication, the Author discovers mistakes or inaccuracies, he or she must notify the Editor as soon as possible and either withdraw the publication (in the case of significant errors requiring a complete revision of the text) or correct it.

The Author must avoid personal attacks, disparaging remarks, and accusations against other scholars. Defamation is not allowed in the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology.

The Authors are responsible for the accuracy of all data published in the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology. If a violation of the above rules is discovered after publication, the Editorial Team is entitled to publish a refutation in the next issue and also not to proceed with any work from the defaulting Author for a period of three years.

Review Process

All submitted papers are evaluated on the principle of double-blind peer review, which means that all materials are sent to the Reviewers in anonymized form (the files contain no information about the Authors and information is also deleted from the metadata of the submitted files).

None of the members of the Editorial Team or any other participants in the publication process is allowed to disclose the Authors’ names to Reviewers before the final decision regarding the publication of the submitted papers.

If a Reviewer recognizes the Author of the article being reviewed and discovers a conflict of interest, he is to inform the Editor of this and recuse himself. Contacts between the Reviewer and the Author maintained outside of the Editorial Team's responsibilities are not sufficient grounds for disqualification of the Reviewer.

The Reviewer’s name can be disclosed to the Author by the Editorial Team only at the request of the Reviewer and only after the final decision regarding the publication of the submitted materials.

The review should be objective and impartial and must not contain personal attacks against the Author. All comments and suggestions for improving the work should be made in polite form, and all criticism should be justified. Reviewers are encouraged to recommend additional publications relating to the submitted work for which there are no references. The Reviewer should also draw the attention of the Editorial Team to any evidence of plagiarism.

The review should be completed within the time frame established by the journal; the appointment of reviewers, reviewing, acceptance, editing and publication can take over 12 months.

Duties of the Editorial Team Members

Managing/Academic Editors provide for all stages of the editorial and publishing process:

The Editor-in-Chief coordinates all the work of the Editorial Team and makes decisions on key issues; he or she also releases issues for printing and gives permission for publication on the website. Also, as a member of the Editorial Team and the Editorial Board, the Editor-in-Chief fully guarantees strict compliance with all ethical standards set forth herein.

All Editors must be careful not to abuse their official position and they are to maintain their impartiality and objectivity toward all participants in the editorial and publishing process regardless of race, gender, sexual orientation, religious belief, ethnic origin, nationality, or political opinion. The materials submitted by the Editors for publication in the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology are considered solely on their scholarly merit and with the observance of the principle of double-blind peer review.

There must be no conflict of interest between the Editors and the Authors of the materials accepted or rejected for publication. In case such conflict occurs, the Authors’ materials are to be sent to another Editor.

The Editorial Team ensures the high academic quality of the materials published in the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology and, if necessary, is obliged to publish corrections, clarifications, and apologies.

Editorial Board

The international Editorial Board of the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology is the supreme governing and controlling body of the periodical. The Editorial Board members, by means of collective decision, have the right to suspend or reject the publication of materials that have gone through double-blind peer review. Papers written by members of the Editorial Board that are submitted for publication in the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology are considered on their own merit, without regard for their Author’s position on the Board.

Due to its academic authority, geographical coverage, and the principle of collegiality, the international Editorial Board of the journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology guarantees that the published content meets international standards of scholarly and editorial ethics. All conflicts arising between the participants of the editorial and publishing process are to be resolved through the direct involvement of the Editorial Board.

Our Languages

The journal Indo-European linguistics and classical philology accepts papers in Russian, English, French, German, Italian, or Latin. If the paper is written in a non-native language, the Authors are advised to consult a qualified native-speaking editor in order to avoid possible misunderstanding.

Currently only two languages on this site—Russian and English—are the primary languages, i.e., all information presented here is available in full in these languages. Other languages (French, German, Italian and Latin) are auxiliary.

All metadata of the papers are reflected on the website in Russian and English.

Technical requirements to manuscripts

  1. Papers are accepted as electronic (doc/rtf) or hard/pdf-file copies. Electronic copies should be sent to indoe.nosp@m.urop.nosp@m.ean_s.nosp@m.tudi.nosp@m.es@il.nosp@m.ing..nosp@m.spb.r.nosp@m.u with INDOEUROPEAN LINGUISTICS in the subject line. Faxed copies are not accepted.
  2. The recommended size of a paper is 10 000 – 20 000 digits. Papers are accepted from March 1 till May 10.
  3. Electronic text requirements. The font size of the main text – 11, the indent – 0.6 cm. The font size of footnotes, tables, abbreviation and literature lists – 10. The width of tables and illustrations should not exceed 11 cm.
  4. Text references should be provided in parenthesis and include: author’s family name, year of publication, page number(s), e.g. (Ivanov, Petrov 1925: 164-165).
  5. The literature list should be provided at the bottom of the paper.
  6. Where unconventional characters are used, these should be appended to the electronic copy.
  7. The material sent for publication also should include:
  8. A list of key words (not more than 15 words)
  9. An abstract in English (≈ 2 000 digits) and Russian (≈ 500 digits)
  10. Information about the author (to be published): full name, academic degree and title, position, place of work/study, e-mail address and

Extended guidelines

Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология
Информация для авторов

Этика научных публикаций

Международный журнал «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» — научное периодическое издание, не имеющее политической, идеологической, религиозной или иной направленности; деятельность журнала связана исключительно с академической наукой. Все участники редакционного и издательского процесса (авторы, рецензенты, редакторы и члены редакционной коллегии) обязаны учитывать это и следовать указанным ниже этическим стандартам, основанным на рекомендациях Комитета по этике научных публикаций (COPE).

Авторство работы

Автор гарантирует, что рукопись, подаваемая для публикации в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» является оригинальным текстом, и подтверждает свои исключительные авторские права на эту публикацию. В случае совместной работы материалы для публикации может подать один из авторов, указав всех соавторов и предоставив необходимую и достоверную информацию о них.

Автору следует указать организации и учреждения, предоставившие финансовую поддержку или оказавшие содействие в создании рукописи, при наличии таковых.

Автор обязан в полном объеме указать все источники информации, используемые в работе, включая источники (опубликованные и неопубликованные), исследовательскую литературу (в том числе собственные ранее опубликованные работы) и данные информантов (при публикации результатов полевых исследований). Автор обязан соответствующим образом оформить ссылки на использованные в работе труды или утверждения других авторов. Любая форма плагиата неприемлема. Автоплагиат, т. е. попытка повторной публикации собственной ранее опубликованной работы без существенных изменений, также неприемлем. Подача рукописи работы одновременно более чем в один журнал для публикации недопустима. Научный архив автора, на котором основано исследование и работа, должен быть при необходимости доступен к рассмотрению на период не менее 2-х лет.

В случае нарушения любого из перечисленных выше правил редакционная коллегия может отказать в публикации рукописи в любое время, в том числе на этапе предварительного рассмотрения, без привлечения рецензентов, а также отказать автору в публикации его работ в течение трех последующих лет.

Внесение автором любых изменений в текст, прошедший этап рецензирования и принятый к публикации, допустимо только с согласия редакционной коллегии. Автор может отозвать принятую рукопись до того, как материалы будут отправлены для редактирования. В случае если автор отзывает рукопись по завершении процесса редактирования, редакционная коллегия вправе отказать в публикации его работ в течение трех последующих лет.

Автор обязуется не размещать в открытом доступе любые принятые к публикации, но еще не опубликованные материалы. В случае нарушения этого правила редакционная коллегия вправе снять рукопись с публикации, а также отказать автору в публикации его работ в течение трех последующих лет.

Авторское право и открытый доступ

В соответствии с Будапештской инициативой по открытому доступу к научным публикациям (Budapest Open Access Initiative, BOAI) журнал «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» обеспечивает свободный доступ к опубликованным материалам, руководствуясь принципом поддержки глобального обмена знаниями. Какие-либо сборы за публикацию в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» с авторов не взимаются.

При отправке материалов для публикации в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» автор выражает согласие с тем, что принятие этих материалов к публикации подразумевает их дальнейшее распространение в соответствии с лицензией Creative Commons | Attribution-NoDerivatives, допускающей распространение материалов в коммерческих и некоммерческих целях, если оно осуществляется без каких-либо изменений текста и с указанием авторства. Вместе с тем за автором в полном объеме сохраняются авторские права на опубликованную работу.

Достоверность информации

Представляя рукописи для публикации в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология», авторы несут ответственность за тщательную проверку информации, содержащейся в их работе, во избежание неточных ссылок или отсутствия необходимых ссылок на источники. Если в процессе редактирования материалов, принятых к публикации, автор обнаруживает ошибки или неточности, он/она должны незамедлительно уведомить редактора и доработать статью или, при наличии существенных ошибок, требующих полной ревизии текста, отозвать рукопись.

В журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» не допускается клевета. Автор должен избегать личных нападок, пренебрежительных замечаний и обвинений в адрес других ученых.

Авторы несут ответственность за достоверность всех данных, опубликованных в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология». Если после публикации обнаружено нарушение вышеуказанных правил, редакционная коллегия имеет право опубликовать опровержение в следующем выпуске, а также отказать автору в публикации его работ в течение трех последующих лет.

Процесс рецензирования

Представленные рукописи оцениваются по принципу двойного анонимного рецензирования; это означает, что все материалы направляются рецензентам в анонимной форме (файлы и метаданные не содержат информации об авторах)

Члены редакционной коллегии или другие участники процесса публикации не имеют права сообщать рецензентам имен авторов до принятия окончательного решения относительно публикации представленных рукописей.

Если рецензент узнает автора рассматриваемой статьи и обнаруживает конфликт интересов, он должен сообщить об этом редактору и отказаться от рецензирования. Контакты между рецензентом и автором, поддерживаемые за пределами сферы ответственности редакционной коллегии, не являются достаточным основанием для смены рецензента.

Имя рецензента может быть раскрыто автору редакционной коллегией только по просьбе самого рецензента и только после принятия окончательного решения относительно публикации представленной рукописи.

Рецензия должна быть объективной и беспристрастной, личная критика в адрес автора не допускается. Все комментарии и рекомендации по улучшению работы должны быть высказаны в корректной форме, а замечания аргументированы. Рецензенты могут рекомендовать автору проработать дополнительную литературу, касающуюся темы представленной рукописи и отсутствующую в списке использованной литературы. Рецензент обязан обратить внимание редакционной коллегии на любые признаки плагиата.

Рецензирование работы должно быть завершено в установленный журналом срок; В ряде случаев публикация работы может быть перенесена на следующий год.

Обязанности членов редакционной коллегии

На всех этапах редакционного и издательского процесса редакционная коллегия журнала обеспечивает следующее:

Главный редактор координирует работу редакционной коллегии и принимает решения по ключевым вопросам, а также дает разрешение на печать выпуска и его публикацию в сети Интернет. Входя в состав редакционной коллегии, главный редактор гарантирует строгое соблюдение всех этических стандартов, изложенных в настоящем документе.

Редакторы не вправе злоупотреблять служебным положением и должны соблюдать беспристрастность и объективность по отношению ко всем участникам редакционного и издательского процесса вне зависимости от расы, пола, сексуальной ориентации, религиозных убеждений, этнической принадлежности, гражданства или политических предпочтений. Материалы, представленные для публикации в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология», рассматриваются исключительно с точки зрения их научной ценности с соблюдением принципа двойного анонимного рецензирования.

Конфликт интересов редакторов и авторов предоставляемых для публикации рукописей недопустим. В случае возникновения конфликта интересов работы авторов должны быть направлены на рассмотрение другому редактору.

Редакционная коллегия гарантирует высокий научный уровень материалов, публикуемых в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология», и, при необходимости, обязана публиковать исправления, разъяснения и извинения.

Редакционная коллегия

Международная редакционная коллегия журнала «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» является высшим руководящим и контролирующим органом журнала. Члены редакционной коллегии имеют право принятием коллективного решения приостановить или отклонить публикацию материалов, прошедших процедуру двойного анонимного рецензирования. Рукописи членов редакционной коллегии, представленные для публикации в журнале «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология», рассматриваются на общих основаниях, вне зависимости от вхождения автора в состав редакционной коллегии.

Благодаря научному авторитету, географическому охвату и принципу коллегиальности международная редакционная коллегия журнала «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» гарантирует соответствие опубликованных материалов международным стандартам научной и редакционной этики. Все конфликты, возникающие между участниками редакционного и издательского процесса, должны решаться при непосредственном вмешательстве редакционной коллегии.

Язык публикаций

Журнал «Индоевропейское языкознание и классическая филология» принимает рукописи статей на русском, английском, французском, немецком, итальянском и латинском языках. Если язык статьи не является для автора родным, рекомендуется, во избежание возможных недоразумений, проконсультироваться с компетентным носителем соответствующего языка.

В настоящее время основными языками этого сайта являются русский и английский, т. е. вся представленная здесь информация полностью доступна только на этих языках. Другие языки (французский, немецкий, итальянский и латинский) являются вспомогательными.

Все метаданные статей представлены на веб-сайте на русском и английском языках.

Технические требования, предъявляемые к рукописям

  1. Статьи представляются в электронном виде (в формате .doc или .rtf) и в распечатке (вместо бумажной версии можно представить файл в формате .pdf). Электронный вариант пересылается по электронной почте на адреса indoe.nosp@m.urop.nosp@m.ean_s.nosp@m.tudi.nosp@m.es@il.nosp@m.ing..nosp@m.spb.r.nosp@m.u (с пометкой в теме письма "ИНДОЕВРОПЕЙСКОЕ ЯЗЫКОЗНАНИЕ"). Материалы, присланные по факсу, не принимаются.
  2. Рекомендуемый объем статьи – от 10 000 до 20 000 знаков. Работы Статьи принимаются с 1 марта по 10 мая.
  3. Требования к электронному набору. Кегль основного текста – 11, отступ 0,6 см. Кегль примечаний, текста в таблицах, списков сокращений и библиографии - 10. Таблицы и иллюстрации должны занимать не более 11 см по ширине.
  4. Ссылки на литературу помещаются в тексте по схеме: в круглых скобках фамилия автора, год издания, страницы (Иванов, Петров 1925: 164-165).
  5. Библиографический список помещается в конце статьи.
  6. Если используются нестандартные шрифты, то их следует приложить к электронному варианту статьи.
  7. Вместе с материалами, направляемыми для публикации, следует также прислать:
  8. Список ключевых слов (не более 15)
  9. Резюме работы на английском (около 2 000 знаков) и русском (около 500 знаков) языках
  10. Информацию об авторе для публикации - полные ФИО, ученая степень и звание, должность, место работы или учебы, контактный электронный адрес и телефон).

Дополнительная информация (на английском языке)